Anderson's Adult Bestsellers


Below are this week's Anderson's Adult Bestsellers

Book List
$25.00
ISBN-13: 9781451673210
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner, 1/2014

New York Times bestselling author, comedian, and actor Patton Oswalt shares his entertaining memoir about coming of age as a performer and writer in the late ’90s while obsessively watching classic films at the legendary New Beverly Cinema in Los Angeles.

Between 1995 and 1999, Patton Oswalt lived with an unshakeable addiction. It wasn’t drugs, alcohol, or sex. It was film. After moving to L.A., Oswalt became a huge film buff, absorbing classics and new releases at least three nights a week at the New Beverly Cinema. Silver screen celluloid became Patton’s ...more


$9.99
ISBN-13: 9780307977618
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Golden Books, 9/2013

A humorous "guide to life" for grown-ups! One day, Diane Muldrow, a longtime editor of the iconic Little Golden Books, realized that, despite their whimsical appearance, there was hardly a real-life situation that hadn't been covered in the more than 70-year-old line of children's books—from managing money, to the importance of exercise, to finding contentment in the simplest things. In this age of debt, depression, and diabetes, could we adults use a refresher course in the gentle lessons from these adorable books, she wondered—a "Little Golden guide to life"? Yes, we could! Mu...more


$12.00
ISBN-13: 9780143126690
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books, 10/2014

A taut new psychological thriller from the Edgar Award–winning author of The Wicked Girls

Alex Marwood’s debut novel, The Wicked Girls, earned her lavish praise from the likes of Stephen King, Laura Lippman, and Erin Kelly, and won the Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original. Now Marwood’s back with a brilliant, tightly paced thriller that will keep you up at night and make you ask yourself: just how well do you know your neighbors?

Everyone who lives at 23 Beulah Grove has a secret. If they didn’t, they wouldn̵...more


A Bollywood Affair (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9781617730139
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Kensington, 10/2014
Mili Rathod hasn't seen her husband in twenty years not since she was promised to him at the age of four. Yet marriage has allowed Mili a freedom rarely given to girls in her village. Her grandmother has even allowed her to leave India and study in America for eight months, all to make her the perfect modern wife. Which is exactly what Mili longs to be if her husband would just come and claim her.

Bollywood's favorite director, Samir Rathod, has come to Michigan to secure a divorce for his older brother. Persuading a na ve village girl to sign the papers should be easy for someone with Sam...more


$14.95
ISBN-13: 9781616204518
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill, 12/2014

A "New York Times" Bestseller, a #1 Indie Next Pick, and a #1 LibraryReads Selection This novel has humor, romance, a touch of suspense, but most of all love--love of books and bookish people and, really, all of humanity in its imperfect glory. Eowyn Ivey, author of" The Snow Child"A. J. Fikry, the irascible owner of Island Books, has recently endured some tough years: his wife has died, his bookstore is experiencing the worst sales in its history, and his prized possession--a rare edition of Poe poems--has been stolen. Over time, he has given up on people, and even the books in his store, ...more


$15.99
ISBN-13: 9780062376336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company, 11/2014

Now a major motion picture

From 1999 to 2009, U.S. Navy SEAL Chris Kyle recorded the most career sniper kills in United States military history. His fellow American warriors, whom he protected with deadly precision from rooftops and stealth positions during the Iraq War, called him "The Legend"; meanwhile, the enemy feared him so much they named him al-Shaitan ("the devil") and placed a bounty on his head. Kyle, who was tragically killed in 2013, writes honestly about the pain of war--including the deaths of two close SEAL teammates--and in moving first-person passages throughout, his wif...more


$17.00
ISBN-13: 9780143125471
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books, 5/2014

The #1 New York Times–bestselling story about American Olympic triumph in Nazi Germany

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the Un...more


$35.00
ISBN-13: 9780307464880
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Clarkson Potter, 10/2014

For the first time, trusted and beloved cookbook author Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa, answers the number one question she receives from cooks: Can I make it ahead?
If you’ve ever found yourself stuck in front of the stove at your own party, scrambling to get everything to the table at just the right moment, Ina is here to let you in on her secrets! Thanks to twenty years of running a specialty food store and fifteen years writing cookbooks, she has learned exactly which dishes you can prep, assemble, or cook ahead of time. Whether you’re hosting a pa...more


$16.00
ISBN-13: 9780812987119
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Random House Trade Paperbacks, 11/2014

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE • Look for special features inside. Join the Random House Reader’s Circle for author chats and more.

In boyhood, Louis Zamperini was an incorrigible delinquent. As a teenager, he channeled his defiance into running, discovering a prodigious talent that had carried him to the Berlin Olympics. But when World War II began, the athlete became an airman, embarking on a journey that led to a doomed flight on a May afternoon in 1943. When his Army Air Forces bomber crashed i...more


Orphan Train (Paperback)

$14.99
ISBN-13: 9780061950728
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: William Morrow & Company, 4/2013

Between 1854 and 1929, so-called orphan trains ran regularly from the cities of the East Coast to the farmlands of the Midwest, carrying thousands of abandoned children whose fates would be determined by pure luck. Would they be adopted by a kind and loving family, or would they face a childhood and adolescence of hard labor and servitude?

As a young Irish immigrant, Vivian Daly was one such child, sent by rail from New York City to an uncertain future a world away. Returning east later in life, Vivian leads a quiet, peaceful existence on the coast of Maine, the memories of her upbringing...more


$27.00
ISBN-13: 9781476746586
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company, 5/2014
NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
From the highly acclaimed, multiple award-winning Anthony Doerr, the beautiful, stunningly ambitious instant "New York Times" bestseller about a blind French girl and a German boy whose paths collide in occupied France as both try to survive the devastation of World War II.
Marie-Laure lives with her father in Paris near the Museum of Natural History, where he works as the master of its thousands of locks. When she is six, Marie-Laure goes blind and her father builds a perfect miniature of their neighborhood so she can memorize it by touch and navigate her w...more

$19.99
ISBN-13: 9781250053480
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Flatiron Books, 12/2014

Did you know that can you scroll a Web page just by tapping the space bar? How do you recover photos you’ve deleted by accident? What can you do if your cell phone’s battery is dead by dinnertime each day?

When it comes to technology, there’s no driver’s ed class or government-issued pamphlet covering the essentials. Somehow, you’re just supposed to know how to use your phone, tablet, computer, camera, Web browser, e-mail, and social networks. Luckily, award-winning tech expert David Pogue comes to the rescue with Pogue’s Basics, a book ...more

$15.95
ISBN-13: 9780307476074
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Vintage, 4/2013




#1 NATIONAL BESTSELLER

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE


At twenty-two, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother’s death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life. With no experience or training, driven only by blind will, she would hike more than a thousand miles of the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State—and she would do it...more


The Rosie Effect (Hardcover)

$25.99
ISBN-13: 9781476767314
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster, 12/2014
The highly anticipated sequel to the "New York Times" bestselling novel "The Rosie Project," starring the same extraordinary couple now living in New York and unexpectedly expecting their first child. Get ready to fall in love all over again.
Don Tillman and Rosie Jarman are back. The Wife Project is complete, and Don and Rosie are happily married and living in New York. But they're about to face a new challenge because-- surprise --Rosie is pregnant.
Don sets about learning the protocols of becoming a father, but his unusual research style gets him into trouble with the law. Fortunate...more

The Martian (Paperback)

$15.00
ISBN-13: 9780553418026
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Broadway Books, 11/2014

Six days ago, astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now, he's sure he'll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm nearly kills him and forces his crew to evacuate while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded and completely alone with no way to even signal Earth that he’s alive—and even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone long before a rescue could arrive.

Chances are, though, he won't have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old "h...more