Anderson's 2014 Mock Newbery List

Anderson’s 2014 Mock Newbery Winners


Book List
$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780307977939
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers, 4/2013
THE WINNER

This funny fractured fairy tale goes behind the scenes of Rumpelstiltskin. "A most magical feat," writes Newbery Honor-winner Kirby Larson, "Liesl Shurtliff spins words into gold."

In a magic kingdom where your name is your destiny, 12-year-old Rump is the butt of everyone's joke. But when he finds an old spinning wheel, his luck seems to change. Rump discovers he has a gift for spinning straw into gold. His best friend, Red Riding Hood, warns him that magic is dangerous, and she’s right. With each thread he spins, he weaves himself deeper into a curse.


Counting by 7s (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780803738553
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 days
Published: Dial, 8/2013

#2

In the tradition of Out of My Mind, Wonder, and Mockingbird, this is an intensely moving middle grade novel about being an outsider, coping with loss, and discovering the true meaning of family.

Willow Chance is a twelve-year-old genius, obsessed with nature and diagnosing medical conditions, who finds it comforting to count by 7s. It has never been easy for her to connect with anyone other than her adoptive parents, but that hasn’t kept her from leading a quietly happy life . . . until now.

Ghost Hawk (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781442481411
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books, 8/2013
#3

From Newbery Medalist Susan Cooper, a story of adventure and friendship between a young Native American and a colonial New England settler.

 

On the winter day Little Hawk is sent into the woods alone, he can take only a bow and arrows, his handcrafted tomahawk, and the amazing metal knife his father traded for with the new white settlers. If Little Hawk survives three moons by himself, he will be a man.


Golden Boy (Hardcover)

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9780399161124
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Putnam Juvenile, 6/2013
#4

Thirteen-year-old Habo has always been different--light eyes, yellow hair and white skin. Not the good brown skin his family has and not the white skin of tourists. Habo is strange and alone. His father, unable to accept Habo, abandons the family; his mother can scarcely look at him. His brothers are cruel and the other children never invite him to play. Only his sister Asu loves him well. But even Asu can't take the sting away when the family is forced from their small Tanzanian village, and Habo knows he is to blame.

$16.99
ISBN-13: 9781442421059
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 7/2013
#5

Twelve-year-old Chap Brayburn, ancient Sugar Man, and his raccoon-brother Swamp Scouts Bingo and J'miah try to save Bayou Tourterelle from feral pigs Clydine and Buzzie, greedy Sunny Boy Beaucoup, and world-class alligator wrestler and would-be land developer Jaeger Stitch.